Blog, Gangnam Style!

So, I think that in addition to blogging about my favorite song of the week, I will talk about something humorous in the music world each week.  For today’s bit, the title gives it away. I think everyone is surprised about how popular Psy’s “Gangnam Style” has become; it’s taken the US by storm!  I’m still gawking at the fact that I actually heard it on the radio this morning (and sadly, I listened to it!).  The song is almost entirely in Korean, and yet people who have absolutely no idea what he’s saying are captivated.  Let’s be honest, most of us love that Psy is randomly singing and dancing weirdly.  It’s certainly interesting how today’s pop culture is so influenced by weird artists and songs.  Why else would Ke$ha or Lady Gaga or anyone else like them be famous?  Nonetheless, from college marching band performances to flash mobs and several parodies, “Gangnam Style” is all the craze right now!

Here’s the song itself that’s become so popular:

Here’s Oregon’s Marching band performing it (and dancing accordingly):

And here’s our neighbor, good ole VCU, doing a flash mob using the song!

As for my favorite song of the week, I’d say it’s “The Power of Two” by the Indigo Girls.  It’s definitely a throwback to our parents’ generation.  I love it how it starts with the acoustic guitar- it really reminds me of a great summer road trip.  I guess I like it because it’s fun and catchy; I can sing along to it and it just makes me feel happy 😛 So, here it is:

Enjoy!

P.S. Could you take a second to tackle this poll please? Thanks!!

Posted on October 1, 2012, in Other, Pop Music. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment